The Rozenberg Tulip Award in DNA Computing

Each year, the Rozenberg Tulip Award is awarded for outstanding achievements in the field of Biomolecular Computing and Molecular Programming. Past recipients were as follows:

  • 2023 (DNA29): Georg Seelig, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineer and at the Paul G. Allen School for Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington Seattle. For his work on DNA computing with strand displacement systems, which has had enormous impact on the field. And for interfacing strand displacement with biological signals in living cells, developing other highly influential molecular technologies for single cell sequencing and analysis of gene regulation, and helping create the next generation of scalable DNA storage and retrieval.
  • 2022 (DNA28): Andrew Phillips, Director of Bioinformatics, Biologics Engineering, AstraZeneca. For his influential work on the Visual DSD software system, which greatly simplifies formal specification, design and analysis of DNA Strand Displacement systems. And for fostering community, notably at the online conferences during the pandemic.
  • 2021 (DNA27): Chengde Mao, Professor of Chemistry, Purdue University. For pioneering contributions to DNA self-assembly, including DNA-directed self-assembly of proteins, DNA nanocages and DNA nanomachines.
  • 2020 (DNA26): Niles Pierce, Professor of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Bioengineering, Caltech. For pioneering advances in the field of molecular engineering, including the hybridization chain reaction (HCR), for algorithmic advances in nucleic acid structure prediction and design, and for support of the community through resources including the NUPACK software suite.
  • 2019 (DNA25): Lulu Qian, Professor of Bioengineering, Caltech. For her elegant and beautiful approaches to programmable DNA origami tile self-assembly, and for laying the foundations for scalable DNA neural networks
  • 2018 (DNA24): William M. Shih, Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard. For his innovative self-assembling DNA nanostructures and tools for advancing molecular biophysics and therapeutics.
  • 2017 (DNA23): Peng Yin, Professor of Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School and the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard. For his pioneering work developing the foundations and applications of programmable nucleic acid nanotechnology.
  • 2016 (DNA22): Friedrich C. Simmel, Professor at the Department of Physics, Technical University of Munich.
  • 2015 (DNA21): Lila Kari, Professor at the Department of Computer Science, University of Western Ontario
  • 2014 (DNA20): David Soloveichik, Assistant Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Texas, Austin
  • 2013 (DNA19): Hao Yan and Yan Liu,  Professors at the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry & Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University.
  • 2012 (DNA18): Luca Cardelli, Assistant Director, Microsoft Research, Cambridge UK was recognized for his research contributions to theory and software for programming biomolecular systems. This pioneering work has provided insight into the computational nature of biomolecular processes, in particular those of strand displacement devices, and has facilitated the design of new software tools.
  • 2011 (DNA17): Andrew Turberfield, Professor at the Physics Department, Oxford University, Oxford UK, was recognized for his continuous, often pioneering, research contributions  (from the early days of DNA computing). These contributions significantly influenced the development of our field.
  • 2010 (DNA 16): Milan Stojanovic, Professor at the Department of Medicine, Columbia University, New York, NY, was recognized for his important achievements in molecular computing using aptamers and ribozymes.
  • 2009 (DNA 15): Bernard Yurke, Research Professor in the College of Engineering, Boise State University, Idaho, was recognized for his important contributions to DNA nanotechnology.
  • 2008 (DNA 14): Masami Hagiya, Professor at the Department of Computer Science at the University of Tokyo, was recognized for his important contributions to biomolecular computation.
  • 2007 (DNA 13): Natasha Jonoska, Professor of Mathematics at the University of South Florida, was recognized for her work in applications of automata and graph theory to DNA assembly.
  • 2006 (DNA 12): Paul W. K. Rothemund (Caltech)
  • 2005 (DNA 11): John H. Reif (Duke University)
  • 2004 (DNA 10): Nadrian C. Seeman (New York University)
  • 2003 (DNA 9): Anne Condon (University of British Columbia)
  • 2002 (DNA 8): Tom Head (Binghamton University)
  • 2001 (DNA 7): Laura Landweber (Princeton University)
  • 2000 (DNA 6): Erik Winfree (Caltech)
%d bloggers like this: